New Changes Made To Champions League and Europa League Qualifications Procedures

UEFA recently made some new changes to its Champions League and Europa League qualification procedures. With the new alterations, Europa’s top leagues are now guaranteed at least six spots altogether in these two competitions, which is the biggest one of them all.

Starting from the 2018/19 season, the top four teams in the English Premier League (EPL) will gain direct qualification to the Champions League group stages, which is different from the present system where the top three gain direct qualification and the fourth team has to go through a round of qualifiers just like Liverpool did against Hoffenheim earlier this 2017/18 season.

Also read: Russia 2018 World Cup Groups and Countries Plus Host Cities

This same rule applies to leagues in Spain, Germany and Italy. In addition, the fifth and sixth teams from these countries will gain automatic qualification to the Europa League. This is indeed good news for most club in the respective countries as they won’t have to go through an extra round of qualification.

New Changes Made To Champions League and Europa League Qualifications Procedures

There will now be 26 teams automatically qualified as per the access list drawn up from the UEFA association coefficients at the end of 2016/17.

For 2018/19 they will be …

UEFA Champions League holders (1)

UEFA Europa League holders (1)

Top four from associations ranked 1st to 4th: Spain, Germany, England, Italy (16)

Top two from associations ranked 5th and 6th: France, Russia (4)

Champions of associations ranked 7th to 10th: Portugal, Ukraine, Belgium, Turkey (4)

Source: UEFA

Apart from these new changes, the kickoff time of these competitions have also been adjusted as well. Not all the games (with the rare far European exception) will kick off at 19:45 GMT. Instead we are going to witness staggered kick offs of 17:55 and 20:00 GMT, like what you will see in Europa League currently.

Also read: How To Register Into The Pepsi Football Academy In Nigeria

Important dates for the 2018/19 season were also announced, with the Group Stage starting on the 18th of September 2018 and the round of 16 kicking off on 12th February 2019, at the earliest. The final of the UEFA Champions League for the 2018/19 season will take place on the 1st of June 2019, at Estadio Metropolitano, in Madrid.

Spread the love
About Chibuzor Aguwa 338 Articles
Chibuzor Aguwa is an Article Writer, ICT Specialist and an Online Entrepreneur. Like the saying does "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy", some of my hobbies are listening to inspirational songs and watching football. A big fan of Manchester United Football Club.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.