Russia 2018 World Cup Groups and Countries Plus Host Cities

The FIFA World Cup is an event that comes up once in every four years, and it is the highest football event in the whole world. All stage have been set for the next event coming up in Russia. The Russia 2018 World Cup draws was concluded some few minutes ago, and all the 32 countries involved already know their opponents in the forthcoming Mundial. In case you are yet to get familiar with various countries and their groups, then this article has all the information you are looking for. This post contains the Russia 2018 World Cup Groups and 32 Countries, plus the host cities used in this event.

Russia 2018 World Cup Draw

The Russia 2018 World Cup draw took place Friday, December 1, 2017, at the State Kremlin Palace. The event kick started at 6pm Moscow time, which is exactly 3pm GMT or 4pm Nigerian time. The Super Eagles of Nigeria as well as the other 31 countries that qualified from their various continents, are all part of Friday’s draw which revealed the group opponents of participating teams.

Must read: How To Register Into The Pepsi Football Academy In Nigeria

The Russia 2018 World Cup draw was conducted by Gary Lineker (an ex England international who played in the 1986 and 1990 World Cup for England) alongside Russian star, Maria Komandnaya. The 32 countries involved and their respective pots are as follows:

POT 1: Russia; Germany; Brazil; Portugal; Argentina; Belgium; Poland; France

POT 2: Spain; Peru; Switzerland; England; Colombia; Mexico; Uruguay; Croatia

POT 3: Denmark; Iceland; Costa Rica; Sweden; Tunisia; Egypt; Senegal; Iran

POT 4: Serbia; Nigeria; Australia; Japan; Morocco; Panama; Korea Republic; Saudi Arabia.

This simply means that teams in each pot cannot be grouped together. The outcome of the groupings are listed below.

Russia 2018 World Cup Groups and Countries Plus Host Cities

Russia 2018 World Cup Groups and Countries

Group A:

  • Russia
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Egypt
  • Uruguay

Group B:

  • Portugal
  • Spain
  • Morocco
  • Iran

Group C:

  • France
  • Australia
  • Peru
  • Denmark

Group D:

  • Argentina
  • Iceland
  • Croatia
  • Nigeria

Group E:

  • Brazil
  • Switzerland
  • Costa Rica
  • Serbia

Group F:

  • Germany
  • Mexico
  • Sweden
  • Korea Republic

Group G:

  • Belgium
  • Panama
  • Tunisia
  • England

Group H:

  • Poland
  • Senegal
  • Columbia
  • Japan

Also read: Black Billionaires: Forbes List Of Richest Black People in The World (Updated)

Russia 2018 World Cup Host Cities

The 12 cities that will host the Russia 2018 World Cup are as follows:

  1. Moscow
  2. Ekaterinburg
  3. Saransk
  4. Rostov-On-Don
  5. Kazan
  6. Kaliningrad
  7. Sochi
  8. Samara
  9. Saint Petersburg
  10. Volgograd
  11. Nizhny
  12. Novgorod

These are the outcomes of the Russia 2018 World Cup draw and all the important information you need to know about the biggest football event coming up in Russia in 2018. Are you ready for the Mundial? What country are you representing? Let us have some fun, drop your comment in the comment box below and let the discussion begins.

Spread the love
About Chibuzor Aguwa 337 Articles
Chibuzor Aguwa is an Article Writer, ICT Specialist and an Online Entrepreneur. Like the saying does "All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy", some of my hobbies are listening to inspirational songs and watching football. A big fan of Manchester United Football Club.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.